Capture the Moment and the Message

When taking certain photos (photo album specialties, desk decorations, pics to Grandma, etc.), think about putting the message in the photo.  It makes a memorable shot with a lasting thought.

I did this all the time when my boys were little.  I felt like I was capturing the moment and message all in one.  The shot to the left is one of my favorites.  It’s a picture of a picture, so the quality is not great, but you get the idea.  I carefully wrote a note to my husband in the sand, then I plopped my son next to it to create a sweet photo for a Father’s Day gift.

Here are a few ideas on how to write the message.  These are for grown-up and kid shots.

–       write in snow, sand, or dirt

–       line up toy cars, flower petals, food, wine corks

–       use string, ribbon, or rope to write in cursive

–       Do a time lapse series.

  • I take a photo of the boys every year on the first day of school.  They hold a sign with the date and grade that they are starting.  Each one goes side by side in their photo album.  It makes a fantastic layout of their growth.  TIP – take the picture in the same location.
  • One that I wish I did – take a picture of them in the same location (if possible) every month from birth.  You can taper off to every year as they get older.  The first sign says, “I’m getting bigger” and from then on every picture has  “…and bigger”.  OH how I wish that I did this.

Have fun, be creative, and TAKE PICTURES!!!!  These moments fly by.

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

